Scotch on the Rocks… in a plastic cup!

IMG_20160805_233055Sometimes inspiration is literally right under your nose! You breathe in the aroma, take a tiny sip, roll the golden nectar around your tongue and savour the aftertaste once you gulp it down. But rarely does the goblet (plastic cup here) reflect your personality and help you find meaning in life (unless you’ve had a few too many, of course!!).

Having moved to a new city and into a new apartment, I am yet to convert it into a home. Being devoid of the luxury of a Rocks glass, or in fact any glass, I am having to consume my weekend quota of alcohol in a plastic cup. Incidentally, alcohol and plastic cups seem to tell me a lot about myself!

I have been consuming my alcohol out of just about anything for quite some time now – (old monk punched into) pet bottles , plastic glasses/cups which are flimsy enough to leak if you do not hold them gently enough, tin cans, steel utensils and what not. The essential point to be kept in mind here is that the alcohol has always been cheap!…unless it was Daddy Dearest’s or his friends’. Times have changed – I have been deemed useful and started earning; migrated from pocket-friendly, budget liquor to more refined brands (it’s only for the 1st week of the month). Drinking is not just to get smashed anymore, but to enjoy the experience (HAHAHAHA!). But the ubiquitous plastic cup still withstands the test of time!!

I am in a transitional period in life; between two different times, two different selves, two different lifestyle choices! As I strive, rather struggle, to find an identity for myself, I ask myself – am I the guy who drinks in the dark alleyway out of a plastic cup..just to get buzzed?.. or am I the guy who drinks good liquor occasionally because he likes the taste and experience? After thinking long and hard I figure that I am neither! Or am I both?!

We tend to simplify things for our own convenience – which is why we categorize people into, or try to belong to, a certain (two!) set of behavioural traits. But the factor that we overlook in all this is ‘the moment’. Different times, different environments tend to bring out different personas in us. So, am I the crude, “Don’t care as long as it gets me high” guy? Or more refined, “Enjoy quality liquor” guy? I am both. I am neither! I am perpetually oscillating between the two….

 

P.S. – The piece revolves around liquor because at ‘the moment’ I am consuming some. 😛

Leave a Reply

